Prior to 2011, the rules referred to an "Angled" ball, where the pocket prevented the cueball from striking a ball ON directly, and there were special rules which defined the situation.
The latest 2011 rules do not make a special case for a ball being angled.
If you are angled, you are NOT snookered, since the table cannot snooker you. If you attempt to strike a ball ON indirectly and fail, it is a foul and a miss, and you can be put back.
If you are angled as a result of a foul, you cannot nominate a free ball, since you are not snookered. You can, of course, put your opponent back in.
Note, however, that the "3-miss" rule does NOT apply, since you have no "Centre Ball, Full Ball Contact" on a ball on.
The latest 2011 rules do not make a special case for a ball being angled.
If you are angled, you are NOT snookered, since the table cannot snooker you. If you attempt to strike a ball ON indirectly and fail, it is a foul and a miss, and you can be put back.
If you are angled as a result of a foul, you cannot nominate a free ball, since you are not snookered. You can, of course, put your opponent back in.
Note, however, that the "3-miss" rule does NOT apply, since you have no "Centre Ball, Full Ball Contact" on a ball on.