SNOOKER QUESTIONS FOR DECEMBER 2010
1 ANCILLARY
Player brings to the table his own rest, whilst using it the head falls off disturbing balls. Is this a Foul ?
ANSWER
Yes, as the equipment brought to the table is his own, not supplied by the Referee. Sec 3 Rule 18.
2 CONCEDING
Player A after finishing his stroke concedes with four Reds remaining. He does not require snookers is he in order to do this ?
ANSWER
No, a player cannot concede if snookers are not required. Sec 4 Rule 5c.
3 NOMINATED BALL
Last Red and Green are side by side after a Foul and are close to green pocket with the green snookering the Red. The cue-ball is about 9” from bottom cushion. Both balls are potable but striker nominates Green as his Free Ball he plays and misses the Green but hits the Red and pots it, what action does the Referee take ?
ANSWER
A Foul is called, the striker had failed to hit the nominated ball. Sec 2 Rule 12a.
4 BALL ON EDGE OF POCKET
Pink close to the pocket at top right of the table, Black is on the edge of the pocket on the left of top of table. Needing Pink and Black to win the frame striker over hits the cue-ball fails to pot the Pink, causing the cue-ball to travel along the top cushion towards the Black, and before the Black is hit by the cue-ball it falls into the pocket. What action does the Referee take ?
ANSWER
He replaces all balls to their original positions and the striker plays again. Sec 3 Rule 9b(i)
5 FREE BALL
After a foul striker is awarded a Free Ball, Red is the ball on. He nominates Brown pots it and when it is re-spotted rolls up behind the brown. His opponent claims foul is this correct ?
ANSWER No, when Brown was potted as a Free Ball it counted as a Red therefore striker was in order playing behind the Brown as the ball on. Sec 3 Rule 10a
6 TOUCHING BALL
After a Red is potted, the cue-ball comes to rest touching the Black. Non striker claims striker has to nominate Black as his ball on. Is the non striker correct ?
ANSWER
No, the striker may nominate any colour. Sec 3 Rule 8c(iii)
7. FOUL and a MISS
In the 4th frame of a 4 frame aggregate match, Team A are on aggregate 60 points in front, with 51 points remaining on the table. Team B are 8 points in front in this the 4th frame, Team B player goes for a fine cut on a red which he can see Full Ball to try and obtain a snooker. He misses the red, Referee calls a Foul. Team A player claims a miss which the Referee refuses. Was the Referee correct?.
ANSWER
Yes. As this was an aggregate score match Team B needed snookers in this, the last frame, to win the match. Sec 3 14b
8 HITTING TWO BALLS SIMULTANEOUSLY
If a player hit the Black and a Red simultaneously during a frame, this is always a foul penalty 7. Is this correct?
ANSWER
No. If after a Free Ball call, striker on a red nominates Black as his Free Ball this constitutes two Reds being struck. Sec 3 Rule 6.
9 FOUR – HANDED SNOOKER
In a Four – Handed frame of snooker the frame ends in a tie. What happens next?
ANSWER
Black is re-spotted. The pair to play first is decided by lot. The pair who play first have the choice who will make that first stroke. The order of play must then continue as in the frame. Sec 3 Rule 4 and 17d.
10 FOULS
A Foul has been committed, when does the referee call Foul and announce the penalty?
ANSWER
The foul is called immediately, and if a stroke has been made, the Referee will wait until completion of the stroke before announcing the penalty. Sec 3 Rule 11a & b.
Dave Fisher December 2010
1 ANCILLARY
Player brings to the table his own rest, whilst using it the head falls off disturbing balls. Is this a Foul ?
ANSWER
Yes, as the equipment brought to the table is his own, not supplied by the Referee. Sec 3 Rule 18.
2 CONCEDING
Player A after finishing his stroke concedes with four Reds remaining. He does not require snookers is he in order to do this ?
ANSWER
No, a player cannot concede if snookers are not required. Sec 4 Rule 5c.
3 NOMINATED BALL
Last Red and Green are side by side after a Foul and are close to green pocket with the green snookering the Red. The cue-ball is about 9” from bottom cushion. Both balls are potable but striker nominates Green as his Free Ball he plays and misses the Green but hits the Red and pots it, what action does the Referee take ?
ANSWER
A Foul is called, the striker had failed to hit the nominated ball. Sec 2 Rule 12a.
4 BALL ON EDGE OF POCKET
Pink close to the pocket at top right of the table, Black is on the edge of the pocket on the left of top of table. Needing Pink and Black to win the frame striker over hits the cue-ball fails to pot the Pink, causing the cue-ball to travel along the top cushion towards the Black, and before the Black is hit by the cue-ball it falls into the pocket. What action does the Referee take ?
ANSWER
He replaces all balls to their original positions and the striker plays again. Sec 3 Rule 9b(i)
5 FREE BALL
After a foul striker is awarded a Free Ball, Red is the ball on. He nominates Brown pots it and when it is re-spotted rolls up behind the brown. His opponent claims foul is this correct ?
ANSWER No, when Brown was potted as a Free Ball it counted as a Red therefore striker was in order playing behind the Brown as the ball on. Sec 3 Rule 10a
6 TOUCHING BALL
After a Red is potted, the cue-ball comes to rest touching the Black. Non striker claims striker has to nominate Black as his ball on. Is the non striker correct ?
ANSWER
No, the striker may nominate any colour. Sec 3 Rule 8c(iii)
7. FOUL and a MISS
In the 4th frame of a 4 frame aggregate match, Team A are on aggregate 60 points in front, with 51 points remaining on the table. Team B are 8 points in front in this the 4th frame, Team B player goes for a fine cut on a red which he can see Full Ball to try and obtain a snooker. He misses the red, Referee calls a Foul. Team A player claims a miss which the Referee refuses. Was the Referee correct?.
ANSWER
Yes. As this was an aggregate score match Team B needed snookers in this, the last frame, to win the match. Sec 3 14b
8 HITTING TWO BALLS SIMULTANEOUSLY
If a player hit the Black and a Red simultaneously during a frame, this is always a foul penalty 7. Is this correct?
ANSWER
No. If after a Free Ball call, striker on a red nominates Black as his Free Ball this constitutes two Reds being struck. Sec 3 Rule 6.
9 FOUR – HANDED SNOOKER
In a Four – Handed frame of snooker the frame ends in a tie. What happens next?
ANSWER
Black is re-spotted. The pair to play first is decided by lot. The pair who play first have the choice who will make that first stroke. The order of play must then continue as in the frame. Sec 3 Rule 4 and 17d.
10 FOULS
A Foul has been committed, when does the referee call Foul and announce the penalty?
ANSWER
The foul is called immediately, and if a stroke has been made, the Referee will wait until completion of the stroke before announcing the penalty. Sec 3 Rule 11a & b.
Dave Fisher December 2010