SNOOKER QUESTIONS FOR DECEMBER 2010
1 ANCILLARY
Player brings to the table his own rest, whilst using it the head falls off disturbing balls. Is this a Foul ?
2 CONCEEDING
Player A after finishing his stroke concedes with four Reds remaining. He does not require snookers is he in order to do this ?
3 NOMINATED BALL
Last Red and Green are side by side after a Foul and are close to green pocket with the green snookering the Red. The cue-ball is about 9” from bottom cushion. Both balls are potable but striker nominates Green as his Free Ball he plays and misses the Green but hits the Red and pots it, what action does the Referee take ?
4 BALL ON EDGE OF POCKET
Pink close to the pocket at top right of the table, Black is on the edge of the pocket on the left of top of table. Needing Pink and Black to win the frame striker over hits the cue-ball fails to pot the Pink, causing the cue-ball to travel along the top cushion towards the Black, and before the Black is hit by the cue-ball it falls into the pocket. What action does the Referee take ?
5 FREE BALL
After a foul striker is awarded a Free Ball, Red is the ball on. He nominates Brown pots it and when it is re-spotted rolls up behind the brown. His opponent claims foul is this correct ?
6 TOUCHING BALL
After a Red is potted, the cue-ball comes to rest touching the Black. Non striker claims striker has to nominate Black as his ball on. Is the non striker correct ?
7. FOUL and a MISS
In the 4th frame of a 4 frame aggregate match, Team A are on aggregate 60 points in front, with 51 points remaining on the table. Team B are 8 points in front in this the 4th frame, Team B player goes for a fine cut on a red which he can see Full Ball to try and obtain a snooker. He misses the red, Referee calls a Foul. Team A player claims a miss which the Referee refuses. Was the Referee correct?.
8 HITTING TWO BALLS SIMULTANEOUSLY
If a player hit the Black and a Red simultaneously during a frame, this is always a foul penalty 7. Is this correct?
9 FOUR – HANDED SNOOKER
In a Four – Handed frame of snooker the frame ends in a tie. What happens next?
10 FOULS
A Foul has been committed, when does the referee call Foul and announce the penalty?
Dave Fisher December 2010
1 ANCILLARY
Player brings to the table his own rest, whilst using it the head falls off disturbing balls. Is this a Foul ?
2 CONCEEDING
Player A after finishing his stroke concedes with four Reds remaining. He does not require snookers is he in order to do this ?
3 NOMINATED BALL
Last Red and Green are side by side after a Foul and are close to green pocket with the green snookering the Red. The cue-ball is about 9” from bottom cushion. Both balls are potable but striker nominates Green as his Free Ball he plays and misses the Green but hits the Red and pots it, what action does the Referee take ?
4 BALL ON EDGE OF POCKET
Pink close to the pocket at top right of the table, Black is on the edge of the pocket on the left of top of table. Needing Pink and Black to win the frame striker over hits the cue-ball fails to pot the Pink, causing the cue-ball to travel along the top cushion towards the Black, and before the Black is hit by the cue-ball it falls into the pocket. What action does the Referee take ?
5 FREE BALL
After a foul striker is awarded a Free Ball, Red is the ball on. He nominates Brown pots it and when it is re-spotted rolls up behind the brown. His opponent claims foul is this correct ?
6 TOUCHING BALL
After a Red is potted, the cue-ball comes to rest touching the Black. Non striker claims striker has to nominate Black as his ball on. Is the non striker correct ?
7. FOUL and a MISS
In the 4th frame of a 4 frame aggregate match, Team A are on aggregate 60 points in front, with 51 points remaining on the table. Team B are 8 points in front in this the 4th frame, Team B player goes for a fine cut on a red which he can see Full Ball to try and obtain a snooker. He misses the red, Referee calls a Foul. Team A player claims a miss which the Referee refuses. Was the Referee correct?.
8 HITTING TWO BALLS SIMULTANEOUSLY
If a player hit the Black and a Red simultaneously during a frame, this is always a foul penalty 7. Is this correct?
9 FOUR – HANDED SNOOKER
In a Four – Handed frame of snooker the frame ends in a tie. What happens next?
10 FOULS
A Foul has been committed, when does the referee call Foul and announce the penalty?
Dave Fisher December 2010