Snooker Questions for January 2011.
1. Play Again.
When an opponent has been requested to play a shot again following a foul, can he change his mind as to which ball he is attempting to hit?
2. Spotting Colours
Striker in potting a green ball inadvertently also pockets the black. The only spot available is the green spot. Where are the balls placed and what penalty is given?
3. Touching ball.
Does the referee always have to state if a ball is touching another ball?
4. Snookered after a foul.
Referee states free ball, yellow is the ball on, player nominates blue and pots both balls after first hitting the blue. What score is called and which balls are replaced?
5. Foul and a Miss
Player A is 30 points behind with one red remaining.
He can hit the red central full ball contact – however in attempting a thin safety he misses the red completely. As the referee, you call “foul and a miss” and Player B asks for the balls to be replaced. Now 34 points behind, with 35 on the table, Player A again fails to hit the red. What action do you take?
6. Penalties
A player uses a ball from a pocket in order to check if it will pass in between a ball on the table and a cushion. Is this acceptable?
7. The Referee
The Striker comes to the table and asks the referee how many points he is in front. How should the referee respond?
8. Spotting the colours
The striker has potted a red followed by a black. The referee, when spotting the black, is a little careless and doesn’t spot the black very accurately, leaving part of the spot still visible. The player then pots another red before noticing that the black had not been spotted correctly. He then asks the referee to re-spot the black. What action would you take as the referee?
9. Touching Ball
Having potted a red, the cue ball comes to rest touching the black. The Striker plays towards the baulk end of the table, hits the green and pots it. His opponent claims this is a foul. The Striker claims he was attempting to pot the green. What action would you take and why?
10. Touching Ball
Having potted a red, the cue ball comes to rest touching the black. The Striker plays away from the black and hits the blue being the ball on which he has nominated. However, in playing the stroke, the black, which had been “resting” against the cue ball, moves slightly causing the opponent to claim a foul. What action would you take?
Rob Wright January 2011
1. Play Again.
When an opponent has been requested to play a shot again following a foul, can he change his mind as to which ball he is attempting to hit?
2. Spotting Colours
Striker in potting a green ball inadvertently also pockets the black. The only spot available is the green spot. Where are the balls placed and what penalty is given?
3. Touching ball.
Does the referee always have to state if a ball is touching another ball?
4. Snookered after a foul.
Referee states free ball, yellow is the ball on, player nominates blue and pots both balls after first hitting the blue. What score is called and which balls are replaced?
5. Foul and a Miss
Player A is 30 points behind with one red remaining.
He can hit the red central full ball contact – however in attempting a thin safety he misses the red completely. As the referee, you call “foul and a miss” and Player B asks for the balls to be replaced. Now 34 points behind, with 35 on the table, Player A again fails to hit the red. What action do you take?
6. Penalties
A player uses a ball from a pocket in order to check if it will pass in between a ball on the table and a cushion. Is this acceptable?
7. The Referee
The Striker comes to the table and asks the referee how many points he is in front. How should the referee respond?
8. Spotting the colours
The striker has potted a red followed by a black. The referee, when spotting the black, is a little careless and doesn’t spot the black very accurately, leaving part of the spot still visible. The player then pots another red before noticing that the black had not been spotted correctly. He then asks the referee to re-spot the black. What action would you take as the referee?
9. Touching Ball
Having potted a red, the cue ball comes to rest touching the black. The Striker plays towards the baulk end of the table, hits the green and pots it. His opponent claims this is a foul. The Striker claims he was attempting to pot the green. What action would you take and why?
10. Touching Ball
Having potted a red, the cue ball comes to rest touching the black. The Striker plays away from the black and hits the blue being the ball on which he has nominated. However, in playing the stroke, the black, which had been “resting” against the cue ball, moves slightly causing the opponent to claim a foul. What action would you take?
Rob Wright January 2011