SNOOKER QUESTIONS FOR NOVEMBER 2010
1 ANCILLARY
The striker at the table uses the rest to play his shot but fails to score. He can see that his opponent will need the rest to play his next stoke so holds onto the rest to hand to his opponent. He has not left the table and his opponent has arrived at the table. During the hand over the rest is dropped and disturbs a ball or balls. What action will the Referee take?
ANSWER
As the striker has not left the table to the satisfaction of the Referee, (Section 1 Rule 5), he is still responsible for the use of the ancillary equipment, Section 3 rule 18 (a) therefore the Referee will call ‘foul’ and award the appropriate penalty. The Referee will not replace the balls.
2 STROKE
The players have determined the order of play and the striker is at the table. He places the ‘cue-ball’ in the ‘D’ and strikes it fairly. The ‘cue-ball’ hits a side cushion and then the top cushion before running into the back of the pack of reds. Is this a fair stroke?
ANSWER
The stroke is fair. A stroke may be made directly or indirectly Section 2 Rule 6 (d)
3 IN HAND
The striker is in hand and places the ‘cue-ball’ in the ‘D’ he asks the Referee if it is correctly placed. What will the Referee do?
ANSWER
He will answer Yes or No. Section 3 Rule 5 (a) The Referee will state, if asked, whether the ‘cue-ball; is
properly placed.
4 TOUCHING BALL
The striker pots the black during a break and the ‘cue-ball’ comes to rest touching a red. The Referee calls‘Touching ball’ and the striker plays the shot without disturbing the touching ball he hits the pink onto another red which is over the middle pocket and this drops in. Is this a fair or foul stoke?
ANSWER
This is a fair stroke and the break continues. Red was the ball on and the ‘cue-ball was touching Red which was not disturbed. Hitting the pink is not a foul and the red over the pocket is potted legally.
5 JUMP SHOT
Red is the ball on and the striker plays and hits a red ball. The ‘cue-ball’ hits a side cushion and in doing so jumps up from the bed of the table and passes over another red ball. What action does the Referee take?
ANSWER
He will call the score and the break will continue as no foul has been committed. Section 3 Rule 19 (c).
6 NOMINATED BALL
A player has been awarded a ‘Free-ball’ following a foul by his opponent, Yellow is the ‘Ball on’. He
nominates and strikes the Blue fairly and when all the balls have come to rest they are positioned in a line as
follows. cue-ball, Brown, Blue and Yellow, The intervening balls are not equally spaced with the Brown close to the cue-ball. Will the Referee call foul and award the non-striker a ‘Free ball’?
ANSWER
No. The effective snookering ball is the Brown and not the Blue. Section 2 Rule 16 (b) (i).
7 END OF FRAME GAME OR MATCH
In an aggregate score match of 2 Frames the scores are level when the black is potted at the end of the first Frame, what action will the Referee take?
ANSWER
He will re-set the table and start the 2nd Frame. Section 3 Rule 4 (c) When aggregate scores are involved the Black is only re-spotted if the scores are level at the end of the 2nd Frame.
8 BALL INCORRECTLY SPOTTED
During a break the yellow is potted into the Green pocket and the Referee in re-spotting it incorrectly places it on the Green spot, its own spot is available. The player is already down on his next shot and does not notice and pots the next Red. His opponent then claims a foul. What does the Referee do next?
ANSWER He will allow the break to continue as the player is not responsible for mistakes made by the Referee, Section 3 Rule 7 (a). The yellow will only be correctly spotted the next time it is potted and its spot is available.
9 FOUL & MISS
Player comes to the table with 3 reds still on and the scores level. The 3 reds are on the top cushion in a line and the ‘cue-ball’ is above and to the right of the yellow spot when viewed from the ‘baulk’ end. There is a clear path in a straight line from the ‘cue-ball’ to all the balls on such that central full ball contact was available. He plays his stroke and fails to make contact with a ball on and the cue-ball finishes up almost in the same spot as it was previously, the Referee calls ‘foul & miss. The opponent asks him to ‘Play again’ from where the ‘cue-ball finished; he again fails to make contact with a ball on. Referee calls ‘foul & miss but does
not warn the striker that he will lose the frame. Was the Referee correct and why?
ANSWER
Yes. As the ‘cue-ball was not replaced Section 3 Rule 14 (c) (ii) does not apply and the second stroke is not a part of the original shot.
10 BALL MOVED BY OTHER THAN STRIKER
Striker is at the table and plays to pot a red which is near the middle pocket. A small child in the audience is passing the table as the shot is played and leans over the table moving the intended red. What action does the Referee need to take?
ANSWER
Section 3 Rule 15 If a ball stationary or moving is disturbed other than by the striker it shall be re-positioned by the Referee to the place he judges the ball was, or would have finished without penalty. In this situation both the Red and the cue-ball should be replaced and the stroke re-played.
John Rhodes November 2010
1 ANCILLARY
The striker at the table uses the rest to play his shot but fails to score. He can see that his opponent will need the rest to play his next stoke so holds onto the rest to hand to his opponent. He has not left the table and his opponent has arrived at the table. During the hand over the rest is dropped and disturbs a ball or balls. What action will the Referee take?
ANSWER
As the striker has not left the table to the satisfaction of the Referee, (Section 1 Rule 5), he is still responsible for the use of the ancillary equipment, Section 3 rule 18 (a) therefore the Referee will call ‘foul’ and award the appropriate penalty. The Referee will not replace the balls.
2 STROKE
The players have determined the order of play and the striker is at the table. He places the ‘cue-ball’ in the ‘D’ and strikes it fairly. The ‘cue-ball’ hits a side cushion and then the top cushion before running into the back of the pack of reds. Is this a fair stroke?
ANSWER
The stroke is fair. A stroke may be made directly or indirectly Section 2 Rule 6 (d)
3 IN HAND
The striker is in hand and places the ‘cue-ball’ in the ‘D’ he asks the Referee if it is correctly placed. What will the Referee do?
ANSWER
He will answer Yes or No. Section 3 Rule 5 (a) The Referee will state, if asked, whether the ‘cue-ball; is
properly placed.
4 TOUCHING BALL
The striker pots the black during a break and the ‘cue-ball’ comes to rest touching a red. The Referee calls‘Touching ball’ and the striker plays the shot without disturbing the touching ball he hits the pink onto another red which is over the middle pocket and this drops in. Is this a fair or foul stoke?
ANSWER
This is a fair stroke and the break continues. Red was the ball on and the ‘cue-ball was touching Red which was not disturbed. Hitting the pink is not a foul and the red over the pocket is potted legally.
5 JUMP SHOT
Red is the ball on and the striker plays and hits a red ball. The ‘cue-ball’ hits a side cushion and in doing so jumps up from the bed of the table and passes over another red ball. What action does the Referee take?
ANSWER
He will call the score and the break will continue as no foul has been committed. Section 3 Rule 19 (c).
6 NOMINATED BALL
A player has been awarded a ‘Free-ball’ following a foul by his opponent, Yellow is the ‘Ball on’. He
nominates and strikes the Blue fairly and when all the balls have come to rest they are positioned in a line as
follows. cue-ball, Brown, Blue and Yellow, The intervening balls are not equally spaced with the Brown close to the cue-ball. Will the Referee call foul and award the non-striker a ‘Free ball’?
ANSWER
No. The effective snookering ball is the Brown and not the Blue. Section 2 Rule 16 (b) (i).
7 END OF FRAME GAME OR MATCH
In an aggregate score match of 2 Frames the scores are level when the black is potted at the end of the first Frame, what action will the Referee take?
ANSWER
He will re-set the table and start the 2nd Frame. Section 3 Rule 4 (c) When aggregate scores are involved the Black is only re-spotted if the scores are level at the end of the 2nd Frame.
8 BALL INCORRECTLY SPOTTED
During a break the yellow is potted into the Green pocket and the Referee in re-spotting it incorrectly places it on the Green spot, its own spot is available. The player is already down on his next shot and does not notice and pots the next Red. His opponent then claims a foul. What does the Referee do next?
ANSWER He will allow the break to continue as the player is not responsible for mistakes made by the Referee, Section 3 Rule 7 (a). The yellow will only be correctly spotted the next time it is potted and its spot is available.
9 FOUL & MISS
Player comes to the table with 3 reds still on and the scores level. The 3 reds are on the top cushion in a line and the ‘cue-ball’ is above and to the right of the yellow spot when viewed from the ‘baulk’ end. There is a clear path in a straight line from the ‘cue-ball’ to all the balls on such that central full ball contact was available. He plays his stroke and fails to make contact with a ball on and the cue-ball finishes up almost in the same spot as it was previously, the Referee calls ‘foul & miss. The opponent asks him to ‘Play again’ from where the ‘cue-ball finished; he again fails to make contact with a ball on. Referee calls ‘foul & miss but does
not warn the striker that he will lose the frame. Was the Referee correct and why?
ANSWER
Yes. As the ‘cue-ball was not replaced Section 3 Rule 14 (c) (ii) does not apply and the second stroke is not a part of the original shot.
10 BALL MOVED BY OTHER THAN STRIKER
Striker is at the table and plays to pot a red which is near the middle pocket. A small child in the audience is passing the table as the shot is played and leans over the table moving the intended red. What action does the Referee need to take?
ANSWER
Section 3 Rule 15 If a ball stationary or moving is disturbed other than by the striker it shall be re-positioned by the Referee to the place he judges the ball was, or would have finished without penalty. In this situation both the Red and the cue-ball should be replaced and the stroke re-played.
John Rhodes November 2010