SNOOKER QUESTIONS FOR OCTOBER 2010
1. BALL IN HAND
The player commits a foul when he has the ball in hand by accidentally touching the Yellow ball with his hand or his cue,the Referee calls a foul but does the next player have the cue-ball in hand or should he play the cue-ball from where it has been left on the table.
JUMP SHOT.
The cue-ball comes to rest touching a red ball (the ball on) and there is a red ball over a corner pocket with the Pink and
Black balls next to each other in the line of the shot, can the player without moving the red jump over these balls and pot the red ball.
3. ANGLED BALL
The player has just committed a foul and left the cue-ball in the angle of the middle pocket with the last red ball along the cushion and cannot be seen by the cue-ball. If you were the Referee would you call a free ball and if the cue-ball was played across the table and failed to hit the Red on two attempts would you warn him that if he failed to hit the red ball on his next attempt he would lose the frame.
4. WRONG PLAYER BREAKING OFF.
What would you do if the wrong player breaks off in a frame of snooker even if he has been told by the Referee that it was his turn to break.
5. BALL MARKER MOVED. The striker asked the Referee to clean the ball, so he uses his ball marker to mark the position of that ball, but whilst he is cleaning the ball the player touches and moves the ball marker. What would you do if you were the Referee.
6. YELLOW NOT SPOTTED.
The player comes to the table and is 29 points behind with one red left on the table, which means he can still win if he pots that red with any colour and clears the remaining six colours. The player pots the red followed by the Yellow and the Referee forgets to spot the Yellow back onto the table and the player does not notice it either and he carries on potting the Green, Brown and the Blue, his break is 15 and he realises that he is 14 points behind with only the Pink and Black left. After a short discussion with the Referee they realise what had happened. What would you do if you were the Referee.
7. RED SPOTTED INSTEAD OF COLOUR.
The player pots the Brown Ball but accidentally a red ball is spotted on the Brown spot instead of the Brown. What happens when it is realised that the Brown Ball is not on the table.
8. MISS RULE/SNOOKERS NEEDED.
Can the Referee call Misses when there are snookers required.
IMPOSSIBLE TO HIT THE BALL ON.
The cue-ball comes to rest nearly in the Black pocket and surrounded by the Black, Pink and Green balls and the ball on is a red, with the last red ball in line with the Black along the top of the table. If the player played the cue-ball into the pocket would you if you were the Referee allow this, if not what are his options.
CUE BALL STOPPED FROM ENTERING A POCKET
The striker with his hand or cue stops the cue-ball from entering a pocket. What would you do if you were the referee.
Derek Budde October 2010
1. BALL IN HAND
The player commits a foul when he has the ball in hand by accidentally touching the Yellow ball with his hand or his cue,the Referee calls a foul but does the next player have the cue-ball in hand or should he play the cue-ball from where it has been left on the table.
JUMP SHOT.
The cue-ball comes to rest touching a red ball (the ball on) and there is a red ball over a corner pocket with the Pink and
Black balls next to each other in the line of the shot, can the player without moving the red jump over these balls and pot the red ball.
3. ANGLED BALL
The player has just committed a foul and left the cue-ball in the angle of the middle pocket with the last red ball along the cushion and cannot be seen by the cue-ball. If you were the Referee would you call a free ball and if the cue-ball was played across the table and failed to hit the Red on two attempts would you warn him that if he failed to hit the red ball on his next attempt he would lose the frame.
4. WRONG PLAYER BREAKING OFF.
What would you do if the wrong player breaks off in a frame of snooker even if he has been told by the Referee that it was his turn to break.
5. BALL MARKER MOVED. The striker asked the Referee to clean the ball, so he uses his ball marker to mark the position of that ball, but whilst he is cleaning the ball the player touches and moves the ball marker. What would you do if you were the Referee.
6. YELLOW NOT SPOTTED.
The player comes to the table and is 29 points behind with one red left on the table, which means he can still win if he pots that red with any colour and clears the remaining six colours. The player pots the red followed by the Yellow and the Referee forgets to spot the Yellow back onto the table and the player does not notice it either and he carries on potting the Green, Brown and the Blue, his break is 15 and he realises that he is 14 points behind with only the Pink and Black left. After a short discussion with the Referee they realise what had happened. What would you do if you were the Referee.
7. RED SPOTTED INSTEAD OF COLOUR.
The player pots the Brown Ball but accidentally a red ball is spotted on the Brown spot instead of the Brown. What happens when it is realised that the Brown Ball is not on the table.
8. MISS RULE/SNOOKERS NEEDED.
Can the Referee call Misses when there are snookers required.
IMPOSSIBLE TO HIT THE BALL ON.
The cue-ball comes to rest nearly in the Black pocket and surrounded by the Black, Pink and Green balls and the ball on is a red, with the last red ball in line with the Black along the top of the table. If the player played the cue-ball into the pocket would you if you were the Referee allow this, if not what are his options.
CUE BALL STOPPED FROM ENTERING A POCKET
The striker with his hand or cue stops the cue-ball from entering a pocket. What would you do if you were the referee.
Derek Budde October 2010