Q1 How far is the Baulk line from the face of the bottom cushion?
Q2 What is the radius of the "D"?
Q3 How far is the SPOT from the face of the TOP cushion? (Black Spot)
Q4 What is the position of the centre spot? (Blue Spot)
Q5 Where is the Pyramid Spot? (Pink Spot)
Q6 What is the minimum length of a cue?
Q7 When is a ball in Baulk?
Q8 Player in hand places the cue-ball on the edge of the "D". He then asks the referee if the ball is properly placed to play from in-hand? Should the referee inform him?
Q9 A player has the occasion to use the rest and in doing so the head falls off and touches a ball. Should the player be penalised?
Q10 Should a foul be called immediately or on completion of a stroke?
Q11 A ball is inadvertently moved by the referee or the non-striker. What procedure should the referee adopt?
Q12 Is it a foul to play with both feet off the floor?
Q13 Can a player have a ball cleaned during a game?
Q14 Can a ball or set of balls be changed during a game?
Q15 Should the referee fail to notice an incident and a foul is claimed by the opponent may he, the referee, seek advice?
Q16 The referee sees that a player is about to make a foul stroke, should the referee warn him ?
Q17 In the case of a player making a score and then giving points away by a miss or a foul, should both scores be put on the marking board or the difference between them?
Q18 Define a Push Stroke?
Q19 Define a Jump Shot?
Q20 Player in-hand adjusts the position of the cue-ball with his cue and in doing so touches the cue-ball with the tip of his cue. Is this a foul?
Section 1 - Commencement of a Frame
Q1 In setting the table what is the position of the triangle of reds in relation to the pink?
Q2 The frame is about to commence. Player places the cue-ball in the "D" and in doing so he disturbs another ball. Is this a foul?
Q3 Can a player hit a cushion before hitting a red at the opening stroke?
Q4 In the opening stroke the striker misses the reds and does not contact any ball. What is the procedure?
Q5 In the opening stroke of the frame the player misses the reds and does not contact any other ball. Cue ball is not snookered by any colour. The next player claims a "Free ball" maintaining that he cannot hit both sides of any particular red. Is this claim in order?
Q6 A player misses the reds at the opening stroke, does not contact any other ball and cue-ball comes to rest approximately midway between the blue and the pink on the centre line of the table. The next player can hit the right-hand side of the right-hand corner red and the left-hand side of the left-hand corner red. Should the referee award a "free ball"?
Section 2 - Spotting of Balls
Q1 Where is the black placed after being pocketed and its own spot is occupied?
Q2 The yellow is pocketed and all the spots are vacant except the yellow spot. Where is the yellow spotted?
Q3 The blue is pocketed and all the spots, including the blue, are occupied Where is the blue placed?
Q4 The black is pocketed, all the spots are occupied and there is no room between the black spot and the face of the top cushion. Where is the black placed?
Q5 Brown and Blue are pocketed in the same stroke and only the Brown spot is available. Where are the Brown and Blue balls placed?
Q6 Again the Brown and Blue are pocketed in the same stroke and only the Yellow spot is available. Where are the two balls placed?
Q7 Player pockets the Pink and before the referee can spot the pink the player plays at another red. What is the penalty?
Q8 After pocketing a red, striker pockets the Green. The referee spots the green on the Yellow spot. Striker plays again without noting the error. His opponent claims a foul as the striker played with a ball not correctly spotted. Is this claim in order?
Q9 The striker having been penalised for playing with a ball not correctly spotted leaves the table. The next player coming to the table requests the referee to spot the incorrectly spotted ball to its rightful position. Should the referee accede to the request?
Section 3 - Touching Ball
Q1 When should the referee state "Touching Ball"?
Q2 Red is the ball "on" and cue-ball is touching the red. Referee has declared "touching ball". Player plays away from the red without disturbing it and does not contact any other ball. Is this in order?
Q3 Striker has pocketed a red, the cue-ball finishes touching the Yellow. Referee declares "touching ball" and striker nominates the yellow plays away from it and snookers his opponent on the remaining reds by the Yellow. Is this a fair stroke?
Q4 Striker pockets a red and cue-ball comes to rest touching the Brown. Striker nominates and pockets the Black. His opponent claims a foul stating that as the cue-ball was touching the brown the striker must nominate the Brown. Is this claim correct?
Q5 Red is the ball "on". Cue-ball is touching the red, referee has declared "Touching Ball". Striker plays away from the red without disturbing it, cue-ball strikes the blue which hits another red and pockets it. Is this in order?
Q6 After pocketing a red the cue-ball finishes touching the Blue. Referee calls "Touching Ball" striker nominates Blue, plays away from it but cue-ball rebounds from a cushion comes back to hit and pocket the Blue. Is this in order?
Q7 Striker has pocketed a red and cue-ball comes to rest touching a colour with other colours better placed for pocketing. The referee calls "Touching Ball" but should he add anything to that declaration?
Section 4 - Free Ball
Q1 When is a player awarded a "Free Ball"?
Q2 Having been awarded a "Free Ball" must a player declare which ball he intends to play?
Q3 Should the referee award a "Free Ball" immediately or on appeal by a player?
Q4 Can the ball "on" be pocketed by the nominated ball?
Q5 Red is the ball "on". Striker has been awarded a "Free ball". He nominates black but mis-cues and cue-ball strikes the red. Is this a fair or foul stroke ?
Q6 Ball "on" is red. Striker has a "free ball". He nominates a colour, hits that colour which pockets the red and the nominated ball also is pocketed. What is the score and procedure?
Q7 Striker nominates the black as his "free ball". He pockets the black and then nominates the black as his colour and proceeds to snooker his opponent behind the black. Is this a foul?
Q8 Player has a "free ball". Yellow is the ball "on". Player nominates the green and strikes the yellow and green simultaneously. Has he committed a foul?
Q9 Yellow is the ball "on". Striker on a "free ball" nominates the blue. On completion of the stroke the balls are as follows: CUE-BALL-BROWN- BLUE-YELLOW. Opponent claims a foul because the blue is between the cue-ball and the yellow. Is this claim in order?
Q10 With the last two reds on the table the position after a foul stroke has been made is: RED-BROWN-CUE-BALL-GREEN-RED. Referee awards a "free ball". Striker nominates and plays up to the BROWN. Has he committed a foul by snookering his opponent with the nominated ball?
Q11 Ball "on" is yellow. Striker has a "free ball" and nominates the blue which he hits and pockets both blue and yellow. What procedure is followed?
Section 5 - Playing Again
Q1 When can a player be requested to play again?
Q2 How many times can a player be requested to play again?
Q3 After a foul a player requested his opponent to "play again". The opponent objected stating that the first player could hit the ball "on". Was the objection valid?
Q4 On being awarded a "free ball" a player prefers his opponent to "play again". Is the opponent to "go again" entitled to a "free ball" or must he play at the ball "on"?
Q5 Can a player change his mind after asking his opponent to "Go again"?
Section 6 - Snookering
Q1 When can a player snooker his opponent behind the nominated ball?
Q2 A Player has been awarded a "free ball" - he nominates the brown and snookers his opponent behind the brown (the nominated ball). What is the procedure?
Section 7 - Angled Ball
The latest rules do not recognise angled balls (aka pocket hooks). so I have removed these obsolete questions
Section 8 - Ball on Edge of Pocket
Q1 What is the ruling regarding balls falling into a pocket without being hit by another ball?
Q2 Striker attempts to pocket a ball which stops on the edge of the pocket and then drops in. Is this ball replaced on the edge of the pocket?
Section 9 - End of Frame Or Game
Q1 What is the procedure when a frame ends in a tie?
Q2 A player is seven points behind his opponent who then goes in-off, thus bringing the scores level. As a foul stroke has been made can the player who went in-off be requested to play the first stroke at the re-spotted black?
Q3 In a foursomes match a frame ends in a tie. The black is spotted the players toss to see who will play from in-hand at the black. Does it matter what order the players adopt?
Q4 The frame ends in a tie the players toss to decide choice of stroke at the spotted black from in-hand. Can the two players who won the toss select which of their two opponents shall play the first stroke.
Q5 What is the procedure when a frame is awarded to a player?
Section 10 - Foursomes
Q1 In a foursomes match (which is over a number of frames) can the order of play be changed at the beginning of each frame?
Q2 Should a foul be committed and a request to "play again" be made, who plays the next stroke, the player who made the foul or his partner?
Q3 During a foursomes match it is established that a player has gone out of turn. What is the procedure?
Q4 If a player who has already played out of turn and is requested to "play again" does so, is that player considered guilty of committing a deliberate foul?
Q5 The striker is about to make a stroke when his partner comes to the table to discuss the stroke. What action should the referee take?
Q6 Difficulties can arise in determining the order of play in foursomes matches. What procedure can the referee adopt to try and avert such happening?
Section 11 - Referee's Decisions
Q1 A player informs the referee that he, the player, is colour blind. Should the referee inform that player of a colour if requested.
Q2 What is the penalty for playing with other than the cue-ball?
Q3 Player pockets a red and after studying the position of the balls plays at another red. What penalty should the referee impose?
Q4 Yellow is the ball "on". Striker hits yellow and green simultaneously. Is this a foul?
Q5 Ball "on" is green. Striker miscues, hits blue and at the same time fouls the black with his cue. What is the penalty?
Q6 During a frame a player goes "in-off". Penalty is given and next player in placing the cue-ball in the "D" moves a ball. Referee gives a foul and the next player comes to the table and asks the referee if the cue-ball can be moved to another position. What should the referee do?
Q7 Striker has pocketed a red and walks round the table to assess the possibilities, trails his fingers on the cushion, and inadvertently touches a ball. What would be the referee's decision?
Q8 Striker has made a break and whilst in play asks the referee the respective scores and the difference between the scores. What should the referee reply?
Q9 Striker plays a stroke, the cue-ball hits two reds ( red is the ball "on" ) . One red is pocketed the other red jumps up on to the cushion and remains there. What would be the action of the referee?
Q10 A pocket is full of reds. Striker plays to pocket a red but due to the pocket being full the red comes back on to the table. Is that red deemed to have been pocketed?
Q11 Striker plays the red the ball "on". Red jumps up on to the cushion, runs along and finished in a pocket. Is this a fair shot?
Q12 Player comes to the table assumes that his opponent has just gone "in-off" and picks up the cue-ball. He then realises his error and before the referee can call FOUL he drops the cue-ball back on to the table. What action should the referee take?
Q13 During a frame a red ball comes to rest "leaning" on a colour which is on its spot but the spot is a bad one. When eventually the red ball is played the colour moves and the non-striker claims a foul. Would that claim be admissible?
Q14 A colour has been pocketed and the referee attempts to spot the colour. Another ball is very close to the spot and due to the poor condition of that spot the colour if placed on that spot will touch the ball close to the spot. Should the referee place the colour as close as possible to the spot to avoid touching the other ball?
Q15 When should the referee declare "FOUL AND A MISS" and what is the procedure?